Re: All Back to My Place

For those of you not familiar with Mojo Magazine (UK music mag) they publish a montly one page article called All Back to My Place. They pose the same questions to three guests about the what music they love . With the end of the year fast approaching I thought I might take a stab at my fave music from 2010. I love and listen to a lot of music. My iPod is almost at the 100GB mark, in my studio/trailer are stashed thousands of records (mostly rock/pop but also folk, soundtracks, jazz and lounge music) and my CD collection is currently stashed in several large shopping bags. Meanwhile Mojo Magazine, the internet and CBC feed my ears with new music. And when I decide to buy I visit Ditch Records in Victoria. But first, to set the stage, to identify my tastes, my own All Back to My Place:

What music are you currently grooving to?

What I’m listening to depends on what kind of activity I’m engaged in. When I’m working I like to listen to something that keeps me energized – usually some form of electronica. Lately I’ve been listening to The Octopus Project’s Hexadecagon. Then there’s the full gamut stretching towards straight-ahead rock starting with noisier bands like Explosions in the Sky and Battles through to Florence and the Machine to Glasvegas or Metric. In quieter times  I’ll listen to jazz like The Bad Plus or mellower rock/pop like Richard Hawley or Richard Youngs (his Scots folkie music). Lately I’ve also caught onto Little Axe’s funky Bought For Dollar Sold For A Dime. Or if I want to  feel sunshiney good: Michael Franti and Spearhead’s The Sound of Sunshine. OK, that’s enough to start… I could go on and on….

What, if push comes to shove, is your all-time favourite album?

That’s tough, to pick just one album. I’ve thought long and hard, and listened to several clear favourites in an effort to chose just one. Hmmm… OK, I’ll go with American Beauty by the Grateful Dead. It’s so sweet. The harmonies, the playing, the lyrics. It’s an album I’ve loved since it came out, which is somewhat surprising considering what else I was listening to at that time (lound rawk). Coming in close seconds would be Beggars Banquet (the Stones) or Blue (Joni Mitchell).

What was the first album you ever bought? and where did you buy it?

Summer Days (and Summer Nights!) by the Beach Boys. I bought it at (I think) a Woolworths store in Dauphin, Manitoba. The Beach Boys? Having an older brother and sister I heard surf music at an early age (and still love it). And how could a 13/14 year old resist an album with both Help Me Rhonda and California Girls on it? I should mention here that the my first albums came down from my sister: The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan (“listen to the words, not the music” she said); Meet the Beatles! (I was 9 when I saw the Beatles on Ed Sullivan, which I still clearly remember); Joan Baez (self titled) – (these 3 albums had enormous influence on my musical tastes); Soul Surfing by the Rhythm Rockers (I now have a digital copy) and Twist with Chubby Checkers (the least interesting although my sister taught me to twist).

Which musician… have you ever wanted to be?

Wow! to be onstage rocking out a huge crowd! What a rush! I’ll go with Keith Richards. Not the lifestyle (I’m needle phobic and don’t know if I could ever keep up with the Stones party wagon), but to be Keif onstage. I remember when I got headphones and listened closely to his playing. Rip it up!

What do you sing in the shower?

I don’t. They kicked me out of the school Christmas choir in Grade 3. I know the words to a few songs and will sometimes quietly sing them to myself.

What is your favourite Saturday night record?

Tough choice again…. I’ll go with The Chemical Brothers’ Dig Your Own Hole. Or (sneakin’ another choice in: The Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ It’s a Blitz!).

And your Sunday morning record?

For a long time I listened to Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On. Another fave is Miles Davis’ Kind of Blue. And lately Michael Franti’s The Sound of Sunshine.

and yes… I use allmusic.com a lot to garner info about bands!

Leave a comment

Filed under music

Leave a Reply

